At Work: Khaki on Black = NEVER (editor update)

I did not have the opportunity to take a picture with the camera phone, but I have been seeing SEVERAL people wearing black shoes with khaki pants. 

 

 

Dont know who told you, but not cool.  Please pair khakis with brown shoes and a brown belt, and please try not to wear Vans or whatever these are on here.  I’m not sure if it’s just me, but I just cringe when I see black shoes on khakis!!

If you’re reading and agree, please let me know, bc I don’t think I’m the only one that thinks this is riduclous.

-TBGC

 

Well, I’d like to say I generally agree here.  However, as a fashion-guy, I now take pleasure in breaking such rules with calculated sartorial maneuvers.  Black shoes with khaki is not for amateurs. 

How does the Editor do black lace-ups with khaki pants?

Like Stan effin’ Lee, that’s how.

 

  1. Light khakis that favor beige, white, and gray more than brown and tan
  2. Seasoned black oxfords (and by seasoned I mean unpolished and rained-on captoe’s)
  3. Well worn belt (only quality leather looks better with age and can look dressy–same goes for the shoes)
Examples:
more brownish khakis, black shoes not possible

more brownish khakis, black shoes not possible

 

very pale, can do some weathered black lace-ups here

very pale, can do some weathered black lace-ups here

GAP, why the black/brown debacle? Navy chinos would fix this.

GAP, why the black/brown debacle? Navy chinos would fix this.

 

 Just my 2 cents. And that’s always been my saying… that it’s okay to break a “fashion law” as long as you understand how and why, and are doing so tastefully (and also not breaking multiple rules at once).

-the editor.

Leave a Reply

  • the editor is sporting…

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Categories

  • free stats
