the hawaiian shirt comes back?

With everything Americana coming back into style these days, I am making a bold relatively safe guess that the Hawaiian shirt is going to make a nice comeback this summer. After years of the style being tied to overweight tourists and confused/distorted into those awful ill-fitting bowling shirt hybrid numbers they sell at video game stores and Hot Topic, I think the Hawaiian shirt is prime for a respectable rebirth. Pretty much, go with the short-sleeved dress shirt styling I mentioned here, and apply classic floral designs. Much like anything I’d recommend via manshion, it’s all about a proper fit and a classic style. What prompted me to write about Hawaiian shirts on the 9th of January? This example I received from Asos.com’s “Insider” newsletter this morning:

asos1

I love the cut and the colors. The skulls are not at the top of my list as the skull/skull and crossbone imagery has been overdone in the past 3 years. Perhaps, I’m also intrigued as a stylish Hawaiian shirt reminds me of the super-stylized 1996 Romeo and Juliet movie. Visually, a cool film from what I remember. I mean there were guns, gangs, hotrods, and what at the time seemed like super stylish clothing/battlewear.

Why not make the flowery, well-fitted Hawaiian shirt your melee attire?

Why not make the flowery, well-fitted Hawaiian shirt your melee attire?

I’ll revisit this periodically as summer approaches to keep you updated on the status of the respectable Hawaiian shirt movement. If you’re still not convinced, it’s understandable, as images like the one I’m about to share with you, often are hard to shake.

yea, we've all seen this guy before

yea, we've all seen this guy before

Comments
5 Responses to “the hawaiian shirt comes back?”
  1. Sid says:

    I wasn’t even a fan of the hawaiian shirt when it was “in”. I do like the ASOS shirt but wouldn’t even classify it as a hawaiian shirt.

  2. Mike Honcho says:

    Gotta agree with Sid on that one… the overweight tourist is sporting a true Hawaiian shirt, but the ASOS shirt doesn’t qualify as Hawaiian. I’d put it in the floral shirt category; which can definitely be pulled off. I do have to agree on the skull imagery though; that needs to be put to rest by designers for awhile.

  3. jg3 says:

    MY GOD! MY EYES! MY EYES!

    Unless the print is subtly cheeky, you’re over age 65, or you are on a beach with an umbrella in your drink … no way, no how.

    the theme party/halloween caveat applies per the usual.

  4. not sure i’m ready for this one…quite interested to see if it’s something that sticks…

  5. Matt says:

    I’ve always loved the hawaiian shirt from Romeo & Juliet! Does anyone know where to get one of these???

Leave a Reply

  • the editor is sporting…

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Categories

  • free stats
