trends that need to stop already

nerd glasses

perhaps he just saw his reflection?

perhaps he just saw his reflection?

I mean, how can you wake up day after day and put on fake, non-prescription glasses and not question, “Hey, what the fuck am I doing this for?”

keffiyeh scarves

it's been 2 years, lets give it a rest

it's been 2 years, lets give it a rest

My biggest problem with them? The fact that I see 30+ year-old men wearing these things out and about. These are so synonymous with young, hipster fashion that any and all over indulgence is nothing short of a peter-pan fetish. Booooo! Next.

80’s Windbreakers

who gave this the 'go-ahead'?

who gave this the 'go-ahead'?

 

Anyone else feel just lied to on this one? So many stores are carrying these things.. so many brands recreating the 80’s ‘wear-t0-soccer-practice-or-to-the-arcade-so-your-mother-can-spot-your-stupid-ass-from-100yards-away’ jacket, and yet I never see anyone wearing these things. I guess I can’t be mad. Just mad at the certain individuals that go full-on 80’s. In the words of a dude playing another dude dressed up as a dude, “never go full retard.”

Ed Hardy – anything

yikes.

yikes.

Rap artists love to take the lastest trend, kill it within a few months and move on to the next flyest thing. When even rappers shed the Ed Hardy look within a month, you know this trend was doomed to make a lot of people look bad on the bandwagon. The retail stores aren’t helping either. It’s as if they bought this crap thinking it had real staying power (of course, just like any overhyped, hand-drawn, ugly designed, already past its experiation trend, overpriced product should) and we, of course, dissapointed. However, we (the collective we, as in the US consumer) decided to pick up the ball and buy this crap way after it had already dissapeared from backs of even our most tasteless celebrities. Awful. The aftermath is still in effect.

Comments
14 Responses to “trends that need to stop already”
  1. Ed Hard sucks. PERIOD.

  2. Oops…I meant Hardy. =)

  3. Patrick says:

    You really can’t buy good taste, I mean those tees go for like at least 75 bucks. I went to Cleveland (I’m from Chicago) last September and at least 3 out of 5 guys wore an Ed Hardy tee to the clubs. Incredibad!

  4. Jarrett says:

    When you mentioned the glasses I thought about Chet from the new Real World lol

  5. Dakota says:

    Ed Hardy is bloody awful.
    -Black shirt.
    -ED HARDY by Christian Audfdfh in some disgusting pastel/neon color.
    -Dragons, skulls, tigers, bears, sequins, rainbow foil print, more dragons eating skulls, skulls fighting tigers, and tiger/dragon hybrid skulls.

    Shit damnit, come on.

  6. shiborigirl says:

    seriously, the glasses have to go. there are several pairs laying around here left by friends of my sons. i just turned 51 and HAVE to wear reading glasses for the first time in my life. i wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy (not that i have any)

    mansion is hilarious

  7. dave says:

    I never liked ed hardy. regarding the glasses i think it really depends on the person. Some people can pull them off quite well (not jay-z)

  8. Andrew says:

    Calling an ethnic piece of clothing a “terrorist scarf” is even worse than wearing one.

  9. brandon says:

    Why didn’t you include skinny jeans?

  10. Sid Watal says:

    I think it’s unfair for you to call keffiyeh terrorist scarves. It’s an arab scarf. It’s like calling all arab’s terrorists. I agree with you on all the trends though. Even the scarves. Just not your name for them.

  11. manshion says:

    Yikes.. Super back pedal action in effect. I’m a dick at times about bad style but please don’t confuse my laziness in not googling up the proper name for the scarf as a sign that I’m trying to be funny by making big racist blanket statements. My apologies for that one. That was not my aim and, in hindsight, that’s just shittiness on my part. Sorry again.

  12. Sid Watal says:

    My comment wasn’t intended to call you out as a racist. I totally realized that’s not what you were doing at all. I was just pointing it out. I’ve gotten wayyyy to many awesome fashion tips here to boycott you anyway.

  13. Oh my Ed Hardy is such a disaster. I don’t know why it’s in so many stores.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Speaking of questionable and lingering trends, there are four Manshion wishes would stop. ~ Topman tells us what to wear on a date, a casual rendezvous and a weekend […]



Leave a Reply

  • the editor is sporting…

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Categories

  • free stats
