lots of watches

It’s all about finding 1-2 good faces and having 2-3 bands for each. An example follows.

I bought a basic Kenneth Cole watch this past holiday season:

kennethcoleface1

$50

Mine did not have the metal band, but rather a plain black leather and a patterned brown leather band.

(watch count: 1-2)

tadgear1

$14

for your casual endeavors

(watch count: 3-4)

wb_ag

$30

wear with your tan cotton summer suit and rep tie (not of the EXACT same pattern, though… like with handkerchiefs)

(watch count: 5)

Comments
11 Responses to “lots of watches”
  1. That watch is FANTASTIC. Is it the same one you are wearing in your Indochino review?

  2. PCIV says:

    I really enjoy your fashion tips and updates, but you dropped the ball on this one. Nothing screams “lame” or “poser” louder than a Kenneth Cole time piece. Nothing Kenneth Cole should ever adorn your wrist. A watch is like a good suit. It says a lot about a man. As such, one should invest at least as much in their timepiece as they would a good suit. Makers like Bulova, Tag Heuer, Tissot, Timex, Techno Marine, Movado, and Victorinix offer sophisticated styles for discerning men. Prices range from $150 – $600…about what I’d pay for a great suit.

    • manshion says:

      I can agree with many a Kenneth Cole watch screaming “bargain bin at Marshall’s”–I’ve seen them there and I can spot one from a mile away. My main goal with this post was to show the versatility of a classic watch face. Looking at Kenneth Cole’s current online watch selection, I’d say I wouldn’t wear 85% of the watches available for sale–even their $200+ options leave much to be desired. However, I, personally think the reserved and classic styling of this one particular face would bode well in many different situations, given the right band and right attitude. Would I wear this with a $600 suit.. maybe ironically (no). However, with a grossgrain strap or military band it would go well with a cotton suit in the summer. Plus I would not feel bad about letting the face get some wear and tear–build some “character” over the years. I could go with many another brand in the same price level, but I don’t think too many come from some a big name in watches that I’d really rely on them or their warranty department to bail me out of the timepiece went sour on me in the first few years of ownership–hence, went with an old standby. So, overall, I totally see what you mean, but I was using this example more as a versatile, optional… “on the bench ready to sub-in” kind of watch, rather than the go to piece for the day you have a big board meeting.

  3. JB says:

    PCIV-
    We’re not made of money here. Is the reason that you don’t like the watch because it’s Kenneth Cole (and therefore necessarily inferior), or because you think the design looks shitty? If a watch looks good, it looks good, and dissing it just because of the brand is as bad as buying something because it’s a certain brand.

    For the record, I haven’t worn a watch in a decade. We all know that they are strictly ornamental now that we have our cell phones in our pockets. I agree that they look snazzy peeking out from under a cuff, but I have trouble squaring that with my form<function aesthetic.

  4. PCIV says:

    @JB

    After reading your post i had to think about it for a minute. You’re right, I am dissing the brand. But, i’m dissing the brand for substantive reasons. They make crappy watches. Everyone’s style is unique and one often draws from a myriad of influences when determining their own. But, Kenneth Cole does not make timepieces that one can invest in…you’re lucky if they last one season. Take the above stainless-steel model for instance, I guarantee the arms securing the metal band will give way in less than a year. It’s not just aficionados who know this. You’d be surprised how many executives, movers and shakers, and king makers can discern between a good watch and a cheap watch. I’m putting this out there because I know this blog appeals to young upwardly mobile professional types. If you are out and about or you’re at a networking function and you run into someone who could potentially impact your career, a proper timepiece sends the right message. In short it says this man pays attention to detail. You may rely on your cellphone as your clock, but I’d be a little put off by the fact that you wore no watch if we ran into each other at a networking function. It’s like wearing no belt or suspenders.

    I’m old school, I believe there are certain signature items that every good wardrobe should have: white cotton oxford dress shirt, dark wool dress pants, brown leather shoes, etc. I look at time-pieces the same way. If one would invest only what they would invest in a nice suit, nothing more nothing less, then that would automatically move them out of the Kenneth Cole category. That doesn’t mean you’re made of money…

  5. JB says:

    @PCIV

    Point taken, and very well responded. Actually, I own a Tissot that I think is gorgeous — it was a gift from my father — but it sits awkwardly on my wrist (what a shame), and so I never wear it.

    I want to know if men are going to forever need to wear that wristwatch, though, or if it’s going to start being more acceptable to wear a bracelet instead. (I’m not about to start that trend, thank you very much, but I do like tokyo flash watches, which are definitely more flashy than functional.)

    Cheers!

  6. I own a Seiko 5 Automatic that I found on E-Bay for $45. It’s no Tissot but I love it very much. It has a blue face and black crocodile band and goes with everything I own, including suits.

    I also own an antique Gruen, a Bulova Caravelle, and a few Timex but I always go back to the Seiko.

    My point is, if you dig hard enough you can find a well constructed watch for a great price that you will want to wear all the time. It’s the one accessory men can really get away with if done right.

  7. JB says:

    I read your blog, MTM, and that Seiko is a beaut. I’m very jealous.

    Actually, my favorite watch that I have owned was a Colibri, a pocket watch that probably came from a local mall. This one was was also a gift, from a girlfriend (apparently, there is a trend with my watch choices. my last watch purchase was a 15 dollar off-brand junker to wear while I’m jogging).

    Here’s the colibri: http://cgi.ebay.com/Colibri-500-Series-Pocket-Watch,-Blue-Sun-Ray-Dial-_W0QQitemZ310109913883QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotohosting

    Not sure how well that link will work. Regardless, the front of it was engraved with an ‘I love you’ from a girl who broke up with me a decade ago. The watch is still in my dopp kit. I have no idea what to do with it.

    I wore that watch once to a job interview (with the chain attached to my belt loop and the watch in my pocket) and it nearly cost me the job. I whipped it out at the end of the interview just to check the time, and the woman who interviewed me expressed surprise and relief that it wasn’t a wallet chain. Not sure what she would have done had it been a wallet chain. But now, you’ll see, they have some chains that you can attach to your iPhone, which I think are hilarious. (sorry, i’ve forgotten the link to them).

  8. D says:

    I have to agree with PCIV. With the timepeices that I currently own and those that I have on my “wish list” each was obtained to build upon my wardrobe. I buy quality because I look at them as an investment. And because I love Panerai and IWC watches.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] We learned how to get our money’s worth from our watches. Manshion says finding a couple of good faces with two to three bands for each is the way to […]



Leave a Reply

  • the editor is sporting…

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Categories

  • free stats
